About Us

Membership

The Membership of the Committee on Gender Equality and Diversity

Professor Gina Marchetti
School of Humanities (Comparative Literature) - Chair
marchett@hku.hk

Dr Shuk Man Leung
Elected Representative of the School of Chinese
leungssm@hku.hk

Dr Brian King
Elected Representative of the School of English
bwking@hku.hk

Dr Kofi Yakpo
Elected Representative of the School of Humanities
kofi@hku.hk

Dr Maria De Luna
Elected Representative of the School of Modern Languages and Cultures
mdeluna@hku.hk

Mr Albert Wong
Elected Representative of the Centre for Applied English Studies
edubert@hku.hk

Ms Irene Suen Nga Ling
Elected Administrative Staff Representative
nlsuen@hku.hk

Ms Wong Lok Yan Kristy 
Undergraduate Student Representative
kristycw@connect.hku.hk

Mr Liu Xuekun
Postgraduate Student Representative
xkliu@connect.hku.hk

Dr Brenda R. Alegre
brendara@hku.hk

Dr Jamin Asay
asay@hku.hk

Dr Julia Bowes
jbowes@hku.hk

Dr Li Chong
lichong@hku.hk

Dr Jason Coe
jasoncoe@hku.hk

Professor Max Deutsch
medeutsc@hkucc.hku.hk

Dr Guo Ting
tghere@hku.hk

Dr Roslyn Hammers
rhammers@hkucc.hku.hk

Dr Aditi Jhaveri
aditi5@hku.hk

Dr Puja Kapai
puja@hku.hk  (http://www.wsrcweb.hku.hk/)

Dr Elizabeth LaCouture
elac@hku.hk

Miss Aosi Mak
aosimak8@hku.hk

Dr Nicol Pan
pannfc@hkucc.hku.hk

Dr Vivian K Sheng
vksheng@hku.hk

Mr Ignatius Suglo
sugloi@connect.hku.hk

Dr Mercedes Vázquez Vázquez
mercedes@hku.hk

Dr Liz Jackson
Faculty of Education Representative
lizj@hku.hk

Dr Lisa Yiu
Faculty of Education Representative
liyiu@hku.hk

Dr Alvin Wong 
Representative of "Global Sexuality” for the Center for the Study of Globalization and Culture
akhwong@hku.hk

Dr Caroline Dingle
Faculty of Science
cdingle@hku.hk 

Dr Laura A. Meek
Centre for the Humanities and Medicine
lameek@hku.hk

Mr Justin Chu Ho Ting
Alumnus
justinchu928@gmail.com

Ms Sharon K. Yuen
Chairperson of the HKU HeForShe Student Society
skyuen@connect.hku.hk

Subcommittee Membership

Teaching and learning

Dr Elizabeth LaCouture - lead
Dr Julia Bowes
Mr Albert Wong


Student affairs and outreach

Mr Chu Ho Ting - lead
Ms Jovy Law
Dr Roslyn Hammers
Ms Sharon Yuen
Ms Joyce Lok Hang Fung

Staffing and employment issues

Dr Aditi Jhaveri
Dr Lucas Klein
Professor Gina Marchetti
Dr Shuk Man Leung
Ms Irene Suen
Mr Albert Wong

Family-friendly policies and climate in the units

Dr Jamin Asay
Professor Max Deutsch
Dr Kofi Yakpo
Mr Albert Wong
Dr Brenda Alegre

Research

Dr Mercedes Vazquez Vazquez - lead
Professor Gina Marchetti
Dr Shuk Man Leung
Dr Brian King

Religious diversity and inclusion

Dr Elizabeth LaCouture – lead
Dr Liz Jackson

Knowledge exchange and related events

Dr Li Chong – lead
Dr Liz Jackson

TOP